DISCOVER THE KELEN ARTISTS !

HAMIDOU KOUMARE

elements-newsletter-8 copie.png
IMG-20200223-WA0039.jpg

Hamidou  Koumare  East  a  young  artist painter sculptor who lives and works in Mali. A graduate of the National Institute of Arts (INA), he entered the Conservatory of Multimedia Arts and Professions - Balla Fasseké Kouyaté in Bamako, to continue his higher education in plastic arts, from which he graduated top of his class in 2014.

We can safely say that Hamidou has found his calling in sculpture. He plays with materials such as iron, nails, wood, plaster, cement, clay or even fabric, generally dealing with topical themes and living together.

This vocation for art, he perceives it mainly as a legacy of his father: Mamadou Koumaré. An internationally renowned sculptor, the patriarch is the author of several monuments in the Malian capital, including a stele dedicated to the illustrious writer and man of culture Amadou Hampaté Ba.

Drawing an important part of his inspiration from female dance, Hamidou gives priority to the intimate aspects of the female body. He transcribes in his own way the dexterity of the dancers,  the flexibility of the figures performed, simply the feminine beauty. Indeed, for this artist who is deeply passionate about sculpture, feminine lines are entitled to representations, even of metal, as this material bends easily to his will.

This choice turned towards characters with generous and round shapes, is partly explained by the status it confers on women. For him, woman is LIFE. "If you take care of life like your wife, there will be fewer problems in the world," he says. Moreover, whether she is “mother, sister or wife, the woman is more mobilizing in many situations compared to the man”, he adds.

From these first workshops in 2008, these trips to Europe, Asia and other African countries, to these recent creations in 2021, Hamidou Koumaré has come a long way. And the artist intends to continue on this momentum, in order to always offer us a discourse that is both committed and poetic about our society and its living forces.

Kelen-logo-7 copie.png

DÉCOUVREZ LES ARTISTES KELEN !

HAMIDOU KOUMARÉ

elements-newsletter-8 copie.png
IMG-20200223-WA0039.jpg

Hamidou  Koumaré  est  un  jeune  artiste peintre sculpteur qui vit et travaille au Mali. Diplômé de l’Institut National des Arts (INA), il entre au Conservatoire des Arts et Métiers Multimédia - Balla Fasseké Kouyaté de Bamako, pour poursuivre ses études supérieures en arts plastiques dont il sortira major de sa promotion en 2014.

On peut dire sans risque de se tromper, que Hamidou a trouvé sa voie dans la sculpture. Il s’amuse avec des matériaux tels que le fer, les clous, le bois, le plâtre, le ciment, l’argile ou encore le tissu, pour traiter généralement de thèmes d’actualité et du vivre ensemble.

Cette vocation pour l’art, il la perçoit principalement comme un héritage de son père : Mamadou Koumaré. Sculpteur à la renommée internationale, le patriarche est l’auteur de plusieurs monuments de la capitale malienne, dont une stèle dédiée à l’illustre écrivain et homme de culture Amadou Hampaté Ba.

Puisant une partie importante de son inspiration dans la danse féminine, Hamidou donne la priorité aux aspects intimes du corps de la femme. Il retranscrit à sa manière la dextérité des danseuses,  la souplesse des figures exécutées, la beauté féminine tout simplement. En effet, pour cet artiste profondément passionné de sculpture, les lignes féminines ont droit à des représentations fussent-elles de métal, tant ce matériau se plie aisément à sa volonté.

Ce choix tourné vers des personnages aux formes généreuses et rondes, s’explique en partie par le statut qu’il confère à la femme. Pour lui, la femme c’est la VIE. « Si on prend soin de la vie comme de sa femme, il y aura moins de problèmes dans le monde », confie t-il. De plus, qu’elle soit « mère, sœur ou épouse, la femme est plus mobilisatrice dans bien des situations par rapport à l’homme », rajoute t-il.

Depuis ces premiers workshop en 2008, ces voyages en Europe, en Asie et dans d’autres pays d’Afrique, jusqu’à ces récentes créations en 2021, Hamidou Koumaré en a fait du chemin. Et l’artiste compte poursuivre sur cette lancée, afin de toujours nous offrir un discours à la fois engagé et poétique sur notre société et ses forces vives.

Kelen-logo-7 copie.png